Christmas Waste Collections

(Last Updated On: December 30, 2017)

Release date: 8 December 2017 

Council office closing times

During the Christmas/New Year period, Cotswold District Council’s Trinity Road headquarters will be closed on the following days:

Fri       22 Dec – closed from 12 noon

Mon    25 Dec – closed all day

Tues    26 Dec – closed all day

Mon    1 Jan 2018 – closed all day

Otherwise, normal opening hours will apply (Monday to Friday 8:45am to 5 pm.)

The Council’s Moreton Area Centre will be closed as follows:

Fri       22 Dec – closed from 12 noon

Mon    25 Dec – closed all day

Tues    26 Dec – closed all day

Sat      30 Dec – closed all day

Mon    1 Jan 2017 – closed all day

The Centre will be open on Saturday 23 December (10 am to 12.30 pm), Weds 27, Thurs 28 (8.45 am to 5.15 pm) and Friday 29 December (8.45 am to 4.45 pm).  The usual schedule will resume on Tues 2 January 2018 i.e.Tues/Wed/Thurs opening 8.45am to 5.15pm, Fridays 8.45am to 4.45pm, Saturdays 10 am to 1230 pm and Mondays 8.45am to 4pm

Please note that the emergency out of hours service for the Council will be operating throughout the holiday period – please call 0151 343 2942 for urgent matters only – during busy periods you may hear a ringing tone for prolonged periods of time while you are being held in a queue.

Waste and recycling collections

Cotswold District Council’s waste and recycling collection service provider, Ubico Ltd, will make the following changes to collection days: (please note that crews will be working on three Saturdays – 30 December, 6 January and 13 January) 

Week commencing Monday 18 December 2017:

Normal collection day New revised collection day
Mon 18 Dec 2017 No change
Tues 19 Dec No change
Weds 20 Dec  No change
Thurs 21 Dec No change
Friday 22 Dec No change
Mon 25 Dec Will move to Weds 27 Dec
Tues 26 Dec Will move to Thurs 28 Dec
Weds 27 Dec Will move to Friday 29 Dec
Thurs 28 Dec Will move to Saturday 30 Dec
Friday 29 Dec Will move to Tues 2 Jan 2017
Mon 1 Jan 2018 Will move to Weds 3 Jan Weston-sub-Edge
Tues 2 Jan Will move to Thurs 4 Jan
Weds 3 Jan Will move to Friday 5 Jan
Thurs 4 Jan Will move to Saturday 6 Jan
Friday 5 Jan Will move to Mon 8 Jan
Mon 8 Jan Will move to Tues 9 Jan  Weston-sub-Edge
Tues 9 Jan Will move to Weds 10 Jan
Weds 10 Jan Will move to Thurs 11 Jan
Thurs 11 Jan Will move to Friday 12 Jan
Friday 12 Jan Will move to Saturday 13 Jan


The collection schedule will return to normal on the week beginning Monday 15 January 2018.

The Household Recycling Centre (HRC) at Fosse Cross (opens in a new window)is operated by the Gloucestershire Waste Partnership and is open from 9 am to 6.15 pm on every day of the week apart from Christmas Day and New Year’s Day. The HRC is located 6 miles north of Cirencester just off the A429.  For details of all HRCs in Gloucestershire plus a wide range of information about recycling best practice in a new window)

Christmas tree shredding

Please also note that your real Christmas tree can be shredded and composted provided it is taken to Batsford Garden Centre in Moreton-in-Marsh (GL56 9QB), Dobbies Garden Centre near Cirencester (GL7 6EU) or Wyevale Garden Centre in Lechlade (GL7 3DP).   All three will accept trees for recycling from Tuesday 2 January until Sunday 14 January. 

Residents who subscribe to our green waste recycling service will be able to recycle their used Christmas trees by placing them in the relevant bin. Please ensure that the tree is broken into manageable lengths so that it will fit comfortably in the bin.

Cotswold Leisure Centres   

All Cotswold Leisure centres will operate as normal until Sunday 24 December when a revised timetable will come into force until regular opening hours resume on Tuesday 2 January.  Details of changes to opening hours for each site are as follows:


Sunday 24 December – 8 am to 2 pm 

Mon 25 & Tues 26 Dec – Closed all day 

Weds 27 Dec – Fri 29 Dec- 7 am to 3 pm 

Sat 30 Dec & Sun 31 Dec – 8 am to 2 pm 

Mon 1 Jan – Closed all day 


Sunday 24 December – 8 am to 2 pm 

Mon 25 & Tues 26 Dec – Closed all day 

Weds 27 Dec – Sat 30 Dec- 8 am to 5 pm 

Sun 31 Dec – 8 am to 2 pm 

Mon 1 Jan – Closed all day 

Chipping Campden 

Sun 24, Mon 25 & Tues 26 Dec – Closed all day 

Weds 27 Dec – Sat 30 Dec- 10 am to 4 pm 

Sun 31 Dec & Mon 1 Jan – Closed all day 

Corinium Museum

The Museum will be closed on 24, 25 and 26 December and 1 January 2018.  Otherwise, normal opening times will apply (Monday – Saturday 10am – 4pm and Sunday 2 pm – 4pm).

Domestic Violence

The National Domestic Violence Helpline will be open at all times – the number is

0808 2000 247









Leave a Reply